file Triton 5 (advice on pre/pro vs. AVR/amp)

• bambam841's Avatar Offline school
    • Thank you received: 71
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
bambam841 Posted 8 years 10 months ago
Hello to my GE brothers/sisters. I Have begun my home theater and 2 channel listening project with the Triton 5's and the XL supercenter, and a SVS XB13 , and Onkyo TX NR818. Of course I need to graduate into a much better receiver and add an external amp or even better choice of going Pre/Pro? As I am still a novice I have next to zero knowledge of higher end gear. I have done extensive online research of Anthem, Nad, Integra AVR's. Parasound, Outlaw, Emotiva Amps, Emo or Marantz pre/pro and a few others in each category. Not having an understanding of much of the numbers and terminology in reviews and specs I am still kind of lost. Furthering my confusion is there are always at least a few people that have negative reviews and complaints about products that 80-90% of others that ABSOLUTELY rave about. My first thought was just to go with one of the new Pioneer Elite receivers, sc-95, 97, or 99 and an Emotiva XPA-5 (I will either be adding a 2nd pair of Triton 5's or Sat's for rears) and just call it a day. But before doing that I thought I would reach out to the community here for recommendations. Pertinent info would be, I have about 3K (otherwise I am just a poor security officer, and this will be my Christmas bonus lol) to spend and I also would like to upgrade my BDP. currently using an older pioneer elite model. my listening preferences are about 70% movies and 30% music. I definitely wouldn't qualify as an audiophile, I am just hoping for loud but clean music playback, movies that sound visceral and impactful. One last note, when I was younger and lived with my adopted family early 80's. My sister had a Marantz stereo, and I thought it sounded absolutely incredible, but through reading up on their current products they have fallen out of favor? I very much look forward