file SuperSat 5.1 System > Triton 7.4.4 System

• Rob138's Avatar Offline school
    • Thank you received: 47
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
Rob138 Posted 9 years 1 month ago
Hello GoldenEar world! I am new to the Home Theater scene and even newer to GE. But I'd like to think of myself as an educated newbie since I've been around sound, AV, and computer equipment for most of my life. I've been doing a lot of research for at least 6 months now and have almost narrowed my search down to the following equipment -
    Phase I : 5.1 system (WAF)
  • -2- SuperSat 60 Front Left/Right
    -1- SuperCenter XXL Center
    -2- SuperSat 3 Surrounds
    -1- ForceField 5 LFE
    Anthem MRX710 Receiver - up for debate
    Phase II : 5.2 system
  • -1- FF 5 to even out LFE in room
    Phase III : 5.2.4 system
  • -4- Invista HTR 700 Atmos
    Phase IV : 7.4.4 system
  • -2- Triton One for Front Left / Right
    Move SuperSat 60s to Surrounds
    Phase V : Amplification
  • -2- Parasound A51
My question is how does this setup sound (pun intended) to the expert / veteran GoldenEar listeners? I think I read on the forums that someone moved their SS60s to surrounds and did not have great results. They thought moving the SS60s to surrounds were a waste of speaker power, from what I gathered, and ended up purchasing more SS3s for surrounds. They then moved the SS60s to another room as Front Left / Right speakers. Here's the forum posting by icharis.

Another question is does anyone have any thoughts about Anthem receivers? I heard one at the dealer and it sounded pretty amazing, but I'm not sure what model it was. Any predictions on when they will release their Gen 3 receivers? I'm hoping they will release something before October as I am planning on purchasing Phase I early Oct and would like to have HDMI 2.0 / HDCP 2.2.