question-circle Triton 7 vs Triton 3

• GEDuck's Avatar Offline school
    • Thank you received: 11
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
GEDuck Posted 10 years 2 months ago
Which speaker would you guys recommend for a 500 sq foot room/8 foot ceiling? I do 70/30 Music/HT and usually listen at reasonable levels but enjoy turning it up for HT.

I'm running a Yamaha 110wpc receiver (I know not the best but it's all I have for now) and a def tech super cube sub.

I'm curious if the 7's will have trouble at higher levels vs the Triton 3's? Would the 3's be better for HT with the powered sub? Or would the 3's be too much for my size room.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Ken Cate's Avatar Offline
    • Thank you received: 7
Ken Cate Posted 10 years 2 months ago
This is my first post on these forums...and I am by no means an expert after having just put my Triton 7s on order today....but I did spend a decent amount of time auditioning the various Triton series speakers in parallel just this afternoon. I have a smallish listening room...about 13x16 with sloped cathedral ceilings that go from 10ft down to 6 at the edges. Having listened to the 2s and 3s I can tell you they are impressive but too much for my room. Also, for the record, I'll be listening to music only. I have a separate HT setup in my living room that works just fine. All old school Athena speakers no one has even heard of any longer. :)