file Surrounds - Bipolar?

• Mani's Avatar Offline school
    • Thank you received: 12
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
Mani Posted 9 years 1 month ago
Newbie here. Believe it or not, I started with a $500/pair budget for fronts and read myself into 5K range. I was almost ready to pull the trigger on DefTech BPs. But I was lead into GE T1s. Way out of my budget. T2s will still fit. That debate is on.

However, just to match timbre, is it necessary to buy speakers from same company (especially surrounds)?

Reason for my question is that if I buy T1/2 what surround speakers should I go for? Can I buy bipolar from another company? I read everywhere that bipolars are best for surrounds. Is the GE surrounds 'regular' speakers? If yes, how does that compare to bipolar speakers?
The following user(s) said Thank You: WayneWilmeth, T Cobe, aribraun

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Dark's Avatar Offline
    • Thank you received: 109
Dark Posted 9 years 1 month ago
I don't think it's necessary that the surrounds be timbre matched (although it IS ideal). I think your front sound stage MUST match so I hope you are considering a GoldenEar center channel.

As for the bi-pole style speaker, I think in the earlier days of surround sound technology bi-pole speakers DID offer a more immersive experience, but that's not the case anymore and here's why. In the early days of surround sound often times the surround speakers were 'matrixed' or basically digitally sound processed to fill those rear speakers. Here bi-pole/di-pole speakers helped spread this sound out more.