file Family room theater remodel offers opportunity for in-wall speakers

• Darren's Avatar Offline school
    • Thank you received: 1
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
Darren Posted 2 years 11 months ago
Last edit: 2 years 11 months ago by Darren. info_outline
Hi all,

I have been into home theater for quite some time but it has been a long time since I have changed anything up. My wife would like a more stealthy system going forward so I have started looking at in-wall speaker systems. I currently have MTM bookshelf fronts and center with indirect reflective rears. All are matched and sound wonderful but the room is fairly small and in wall is attractive to us going forward. My subwoofer is an infinite baffle in our attic with 4 15" drivers. I like my bass. My system is still 5.1 and I'm considering adding Atmos if it will work with my room.

Now my actual question:
I'm new to Golden Ear so am trying to imagine a comparable setup to my current system with regard to sound level and sound stage. I am considering a SPS for my center (mounted in my 45 degree angled ceiling about 2 feet above and 2 feet forward of the screen), MPXs for left, right and surrounds (side wall). I am also considering ceiling mounted HTR7000's x 2 mid room sides in the ceiling for possible Atmos.

I'd appreciate any feedback on the above choices.

Thanks,
Darren

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Moderator's Avatar Offline
    • Thank you received: 3418
Moderator Posted 2 years 11 months ago
Hi Darren, The system you're considering should work quite well for both music and home theater applications. The Invisa SPS is a great sounding center speaker. The Invisa MPXs would great as your surrounds - mounted into the side walls of your listening room. (Their angled drivers produce a nice blend of spaciousness and focused sound.) The ceiling mounted Invisa HTR7000s would make great Atmos speakers.