file new tt/cartridge bass feedback solution request

• RS1506's Avatar Offline school
    • Thank you received: 107
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
RS1506 Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Hello GE community!

It's been a long time since I posted as I have been enjoying my T1's in my reference system since 2015.

However, as a result of a tt/cart upgrade, I am now getting horrendous bass feedback. Only happens with the tt/vinyl. No issues with SACD/CD/Hi rez music files played through USB DAC.

My previous tt is a vpi classic 3, which I bought to resolve this same problem, and it worked perfectly. FYI: My tt/cart is about 2.5 ft from the bass radiators. The bass volume level in each T1 has been changed from 12-1 oclock to 8 oclock, depending on music being played. My bass jones has been left wanting. (I'm a bassist too... ouch. Gotta have my bass! One of the big benefits of owning the T1's.)

Since I have made such a sizable purchase to upgrade my tt to allow both mono and stereo cartridges to be mounted and used when needed, a solution is mandatory. I have two placement options in my mancave that may resolve this.

1. Move the rack into a dormer/vestibule area which is currently occupied by my work desk and computer. This would allow me to place the t1's out front and to the side of the tt/cart. The bad thing is the t1's will be sticking out in space and will make it difficult to get to the window in the dormer.

2. Move or remove a home recording studio desk and associated gear in another corner of the room. I could get as much as 5.5ft of distance from the T1's and the tt/cart this way, but they would be in line with each other, as they are now.

The first question I probably should have asked is if anyone members have had this issue with their t1/cart/tt combo and what did they do to resolve this. How far did you have to move the t1's from the tt to eliminate the bass feedback completely?

I look forwad to all input.
happy listening!
RS1506 (gus)