file Aon 3/SupercenterXL/and ???? (newbie)

• maloyji's Avatar Offline school
    • Thank you received: 2
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
maloyji Posted 7 years 11 months ago
newbie here to the Golden Ear line up.
went by the local dealer and loved the crisp tweeters and the overall clarity of this set up.

when I purchased this setup, I thought I would be able to incorporate an older definitive technology supercube II to fill in my lows.

I have come to the conclusion that, NO, this sub does not fit my desires for music.

I come to you guys with a poll. hopefully there will be enough advice to help me with my decision.
for consistency, I know I will pick a golden ear sub setup but I am torn.

I have remodeled an old spot in a TV cabinet where at 1990s rolling TV would fit to house a flat screen above it and I could turn the lower section into a sub cabinet front and center. my dilemma here is to choose between a single SuperSubXXL or two ForceField5 woofer.

by my measurements. the two FF5 will fit in the same space and front fire, versus the SSXXL having to side fire.

please help me out here....
hoping someone has good input on the set up.
The following user(s) said Thank You: rjohn79395, T Cobe

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• rjohn79395's Avatar Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • rjohn79395
    • Thank you received: 4322
rjohn79395 Posted 7 years 11 months ago
Hi, Maloyji

Welcome! You are absolutely right, adding GEt sub(s) will greatly increase the musicality of your system. GEt speakers just plain play and blend together perfectly! And yes, the bass from any GEt speaker is clean, detailed, musical.

HMMM. Two FF5's or one SSXXL in a sub cabinet. Any chance you could locate one sub in another location, preferably toward the rear of the room? If so, my vote would be for two FF5's, for optimum bass dispersion, one in the cabinet and one in the rear.